Milestone Ceremony
IEEE Networking The World

Canaveral Section History

The Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE) established its Canaveral Section in September, 1952. The American Institute of Electrical Engineers (AIEE) also existed in the local area, the Central Florida chapter having been formed in 1960. Several student members from each organization became leaders in the IEEE Canaveral Section later in their careers.

The Canaveral Section, originally formed during the merger of the Institute of Radio Engineers and the American Institute of Electrical Engineers in 1962 to form IEEE, has influenced and been influenced by the large number of electrical, electronics, and computer engineering efforts since the origin of the Space Coast. This influence was judged sufficient to be awarded an IEEE Electronic Technology in Space Rocket Launches, 1950-1969 Milestone, a worldwide historical designation. The dedication took place at the Kennedy Space Center Visitor's Complex Debus Center on May 25, 2001.

Canaveral's members have been known to be instrumental in the space program, as well as generating world-class research and development in areas such photovoltaic (solar) cells. Members have been intricately involved in international standards development and the invention of the Cochlear implant, in addition to day-to-day efforts in areas as diverse as power engineering, lightning protection, telemetry, and software development. Section influence has also extended to governmental contracting policy regarding the status and security of engineering professionals. IEEE Canaveral was a founding member organization of the Canaveral Council of Technical Societies (CCTS), which has also become an organization of influence.

The Section has even spun off a second section, the Melbourne Section, as of December 1, 1984.

Canaveral's Engineering Management Society Chapter was formed November 1, 1967.

The Computer Society Chapter was established April 17, 1969. This chapter now includes an Aerospace and Electronics Systems Society Chapter, yielding a joint AESS/COMP Chapter on January 17, 2002.

The Life Member Chapter (joint with Melbourne) was established in May 2001.

IRE Section Chairmen
(Predecessor of Current Canaveral Section)

1952-1953 H. W. Mehrling
1953-1954 Arthur R. Beach
1954-1955 Homer R. Denius
1955-1956 Hans Scharla-Nielsen
1956-1957 K. A. West
1957-1958 G. F. Anderson
1958-1959 G. F. Anderson
1959-1960 J. W. Downs
1960-1961 W. S. Hines
1961-1962 Clifford E. Mattox
1962-1963 W. J. Haberhern, Jr.

IEEE Canaveral Section Chairmen

1963-1964 Robert E. Marquand
1964-1965 Philander H. Betts
1965-1966 Furman J. Clark
1966-1967 Lavrergne E. Williams
1967-1968 Harold L. Flowers
1968-1969 Gunther Karger &
Richard K. Snelling
1969-1970 Dr. Harry P. Weber
1970-1971 Carmen J. Palermo
1972-1973 Arthur N. Greene
1973-1974 Walter Nunn
1974-1975 West H. Armistead, Jr.
1975-1976 William E. Mclnnis
1976-1977 Ronald J. Wojtasinski
1977-1978 Harold G. Williamson
1978-1979 Frank H. Palmer
1979-1981 Horst A. Poehler (2 terms)
1981-1982 Ronald S. Waters
1982-1983 Junho Choi
1983-1984 Floyd W. Blum
1984-1985 Arthur C. Grunenfelder
1985-1986 John E. Kassak
1986-1987 King W. Osborne
1987-1988 King W. Osborne
1988-1989 Wilson R. Dietz
1989-1990 William S. Byers
1990-1991 William S. Byers
1991-1992 Floyd W. Blum
1992-1993 Leon R. Migdalski
1993-1994 James M. Shaver
1994-1995 James M. Shaver
1995-1996 G. Ali Shaykhian
1996-1997 Wayne L. Rendla
1997-1998 Stanley O. Starr
1998-1999 Bahman S. Motlagh
1999-2000 Robert L. Morrison
2001-2003 Kathryn J. Rinehart
2004 Leon R. Migdalski
2005-2011 Charles H. Chapman
2012-2016 Nancy Mate
2017 Macaulay Osaisai

Author:(Canaveral Section)
(Modified: 04/18/17)
Copyright 2017, The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc.

Back to Homepage