I2TS01 - A Taxonomy for Locality Algorithms on Peer-to-Peer Networks (I2TS01 - A Taxonomy for Locality Algorithms on Peer-to-Peer Networks)

Charles Christian Miers (cmiers@larc.usp.br)1, Marcos A. Simplício (msimplicio@larc.usp.br)1, Diego Sanchez Gallo (dsgallo@larc.usp.br)1, Tereza C. M. B. Carvalho (carvalho@larc.usp.br)1, Graça Bressan (gbressan@larc.usp.br)1, Victor Souza (victor.souza@ericsson.com)2, Per Karlsson (per.p.karlsson@ericsson.com)2, Ayodele Damola (ayodele.damola@ericsson.com)2


1Universidade de São Paulo
2Ericsson Research ‑ Packet Systems

This paper appears in: Revista IEEE América Latina

Publication Date: Aug. 2010
Volume: 8,   Issue: 4 
ISSN: 1548-0992


Abstract:
The continuous growth of peer-to-peer networks has made them responsible for a considerable portion of the current Internet traffic. For this reason, improvements in P2P network resources usage are of central importance. One effective approach for addressing this issue is the deployment of locality algorithms, which allow the system to optimize the peers selection policy for different network situations and, thus, maximize performance. To date, several locality algorithms have been proposed for use in P2P networks. However, they usually adopt heterogeneous criteria for measuring the proximity between peers, which hinders a coherent comparison between the different solutions. In this paper, we develop a thoroughly review of popular locality algorithms, based on three main characteristics: the adopted network architecture, distance metric, and resulting peer selection algorithm. As result of this study, we propose a novel and generic taxonomy for locality algorithms in peer-to-peer networks, aiming to enable a better and more coherent evaluation of any individual locality algorithm.

Index Terms:
locality taxonomy, locality algorithms, P2P   


Documents that cite this document
This function is not implemented yet.


[PDF Full-Text (423)]