Experiencias y Retos en el Despliegue de OpenFlow sobre Redes Inalámbricas en Malla (Experiences and Challenges in Deploying OpenFlow over Real Wireless Mesh Networks)

Joaquin Chung (joaquin.chung@citicup.org)1, Grace Gonzalez (ggonzalez@citicup.org)1, Ivan Armuelles (iarmuelles@citicup.org)1, Tomas Robles (trobles@dit.upm.es)2, Ramon Alcarria (ralcarria@dit.upm.es)2, Augusto Morales (amorales@dit.upm.es)2


1Universidad de Panama
2Universidad Politecnica de Madrid

This paper appears in: Revista IEEE América Latina

Publication Date: May 2013
Volume: 11,   Issue: 3 
ISSN: 1548-0992


Abstract:
Wireless Mesh Networks propose a distributed architecture for establishing quickly, scalable, reliable and ease of maintenance multi-hop wireless communications. However, many wireless mesh network technologies lack of high level services such as handoff and mobility management. Meanwhile, the OpenFlow protocol offers a framework for developing high level services over data networks. OpenFlow is an interface for remotely controlling the flow table of switches, routers and access points. It separates the control and data planes of network devices, while supports a centralized architecture for controlling the forwarding of packets. Extending wireless mesh networks with OpenFlow offers many benefits, as the use of high level services like mobility. Nevertheless, this combination introduces challenges regarding the opposition between the centralized control of OpenFlow and the distributed architecture of wireless mesh networks. In this paper we expose our experiences deploying an OpenFlow controller over a wireless mesh network based on the 802.11s standard. First, we describe the scenarios employed in our testbed. Then, we discuss the considerations for each scenario. Finally, we expose our conclusions regarding the OpenFlow's implementation and its capabilities of supporting throughput-dependant services.

Index Terms:
Wireless Mesh Networks, OpenFlow, testbed, deployment   


Documents that cite this document
This function is not implemented yet.


[PDF Full-Text (478)]