Análisis espectral de alta resolución para la estimación de la frecuencia fundamental de edificios altos sometidos a terremotos (High-resolution Spectral-analysis for Fundamental Frequency Estimation of High-rise Buildings subjected to Earthquakes)

Carlos Andres Perez Ramirez (carlos.perez@uaq.mx)1, Juan Pablo Amezquita Sanchez (jamezquita@hspdigital.org)1, Martin Valtierra Rodiguez (martin.valtierra@uaq.mx)1, David Camarena Martinez (dcamarena@hspdigital.org)2, Aurelio Dominguez Gonzalez (auredgz@uaq.mx)3, Jesus Ronney Rivera Guillen (jrivera@hspdigital.org)3, Omar Chavez Alegria (omar.chavez@uaq.mx)3


1Universidad Autonoma de Queretearo
2Universidad de Guanajuato
3Universidad Autonoma de Queretaro

This paper appears in: Revista IEEE América Latina

Publication Date: Dec. 2015
Volume: 13,   Issue: 12 
ISSN: 1548-0992


Abstract:
Accurate estimation of the fundamental frequency of civil structures is crucial for many applications; in particular, this estimation becomes more important when it helps to avoid or minimize human, economic, and structural damages as the case of the design and analysis of high-rise buildings subjected to earthquakes. Although many techniques have been proposed for this task, several aspects such as accuracy, noise immunity, and suitable time-frequency resolution have not been adequately addressed. In this work, the short-time multiple signal classification (ST-MUSIC), a high-resolution spectral-analysis technique, is proposed to estimate the fundamental frequency of high-rise buildings using vibration signals. The proposal is validated and tested using synthetic signals and real measurements. In the latter, the fundamental frequency of a high-rise building, 1:20 scale model, is estimated before-, during-, and after-seismic excitation through the analysis of the generated vibrations. For comparison purposes, the short-time Fourier transform (STFT), a conventional time-frequency technique, is also used. The obtained results show a high accuracy and noise immunity in the analysis, which makes the proposal a suitable and reliable tool for this task.

Index Terms:
High-rise biuldings, multiple signal classification, time-frequency analysis, vibration analysis, fundamental frequency   


Documents that cite this document
This function is not implemented yet.


[PDF Full-Text (796)]