Limitaciones de rendimiento en una aplicación de búsqueda de textos ejecutada en instancias cloud (Performance limitations of a text search application running in cloud instances)

Jose Isaac Zablah (mrzablah@yahoo.com)1, Iris Xiomara Corrales (iris.corrales@unah.edu.hn)1, Jose Medardo Aguilar (jaguilar@unah.edu.hn)1, Antonio Garcia Loureiro (antonio.garcia.loureiro@usc.es)2, Fernando Gomez Folgar (fernando.gomez.folgar@usc.es)2, Marco Tulio Medina (marco.medina@unah.edu.hn)1


1Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Honduras
2Universidad Santiago de Compostela

This paper appears in: Revista IEEE América Latina

Publication Date: March 2016
Volume: 14,   Issue: 3 
ISSN: 1548-0992


Abstract:
This article analyzes the performance of MySQL in clouds based on commodity hardware in order to identify the bottlenecks in the execution of series of scripts developed on the SQL standard. The developed scripts were designed in order to perform text search in a considerable amount of records. Two types of platforms were employed: a physical machine that serves as host and an instance within a cloud infrastructure. The results show that the intensive use of a relational database presents a greater loss of performance in a cloud instance due limitations in the primary storage system that was employed in the cloud infrastructure.

Index Terms:
Virtualization, regular expressions, benchmark, Cloud, MySQL   


Documents that cite this document
This function is not implemented yet.


[PDF Full-Text (371)]