Um Novo Método Automático de Identificação de Placas de Veículos (A New Method for Automatic Vehicle License Plate Detection)

Guilherme Lofrano Corneto (gcorneto@hotmail.com)1, Francisco Assis da Silva (chico@unoeste.br)1, Danillo Roberto Pereira (danilopereira@unoeste.br)1, Leandro Luis de Almeida (llalmeida@uoneste.br)1, Almir Olivete Artero (almir@fct.unesp.br)2, João Paulo Papa (papa@fc.unesp.br)3, Victor Hugo Costa de Albuquerque (victor.albuquerque@unifor.br)4, Helton Molina Sapia (helton@unoeste.br)1


1Universidade do Oeste Paulista (Unoeste), Presidente Prudente, São Paulo, Brasil
2Universidade Estadual Paulista (Unesp), Presidente Prudente, São Paulo, Brasil
3Universidade Estadual Paulista (Unesp), Bauru, São Paulo, Brasil
4Universidade de Fortaleza (Unifor), Fortaleza, Cerá, Brasil

This paper appears in: Revista IEEE América Latina

Publication Date: Jan. 2017
Volume: 15,   Issue: 1 
ISSN: 1548-0992


Abstract:
License plate recognition has been widely studied, and the advance in image capture technology helps enhance or create new methods to achieve this objective. In this work is presented a method for real time detection and segmentation of car license plates based on image analyzing and processing techniques. The results show that the computational cost and accuracy rate considering the proposed approach are acceptable to real time applications, with an execution time under 1 second. The proposed method was validated using two datasets (A and B). It was obtained over 92% detection success for dataset A, 88% in digit segmentation for datasets A and B, and 95% digits classification accuracy rate for dataset B.

Index Terms:
License plate detection, Digits segmentation, Vehicle License Plate, OCR, Image Processing   


Documents that cite this document
This function is not implemented yet.


[PDF Full-Text (676)]