Sistema para Mediciones Goniométricas Simultáneas de las Articulaciones de los Dedos de la Mano Basado en Sensores Inerciales (A System for Simultaneous Finger Joints Goniometric Measurements Based on Inertial Sensors)

Sandra Arias (asandra612@gmail.com)1, Pablo Rogeli (pablo.rogeli@cinvestav.mx)4, Laura Garay (lgaray@ipn.mx)2, Blanca Tovar (bltovar@ipn.mx)2, Josefina Gutierrez (jgutierrez@inr.gob.mx)3, Eladio Cardiel (ecardiel@cinvestav.mx)4


1Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana ‑ Azcapotzalco
2UPIITA, Instituto Politécnico Nacional
3Instituto Nacional de Rehabilitación
4Centro de Investigación y de Estudios Avanzados del IPN

This paper appears in: Revista IEEE América Latina

Publication Date: Oct. 2017
Volume: 15,   Issue: 10 
ISSN: 1548-0992


Abstract:
In this work, a system to record continuously and simultaneously the flexion and extension of finger joints and to compute a range of motion of the hand joints is presented. The system is based on micro-inertial sensors and a graphical interface in LabVIEW with a mathematical algorithm for signal conditioning. Ten sensors were attached to fingers with adjustable velcro belts, eight on proximal and distal phalanges from index to little fingers, one on the proximal phalanx of the thumb and another on the hand dorsum. The evaluation protocol consisted of 3 sessions of 10 repetitions each, on both hands of 6 healthy volunteers where the angular trajectory was recorded during grasping a 7.8 cm diameter sphere. A statistical analysis was performed in order to determine the variation among the measurements. The purpose of this study was to demonstrate the suitability of this system for simultaneous measurements of range of motion during flexion and extension, considering that it can be used interchangeably in the two hands, regardless the size. The results showed that the developed system is suitable for registering objectively the range of motion of the hand.

Index Terms:
Finger movements, grasping, goniometry, range of motion, inertial sensors   


Documents that cite this document
This function is not implemented yet.


[PDF Full-Text (606)]