as of 9 July 2015

 OFFICERS

President
James Sluss
The University of Oklahoma
Norman, Oklahoma USA
E-mail: sluss@ou.edu
President-elect
Claudio da Rocha Brito
COPEC
Santos, Brasil
E-mail: cdrbrito@copec.org.br
Vice President for Member and Geographic Activity
Seyed Mousavinezhad
Idaho State University
Pocatello, ID USA
E-mail: hossein.mousavinezhad@ieee.org
Vice President for Conferences and Workshops
Russ Meier
Milwaukee School of Engineering
Milwaukee, WI USA
E-mail: meier@msoe.edu
Vice President for Publications
Martin Llamas Nistal
University of Vigo
Vigo, Spain
E-mail: martin@uvigo.es
Vice President for Educational Activities and Awards
Edmundo Tovar
Technical University of Madrid (UPM)
Madrid, Spain
E-mail: edmundo.tovar@upm.es
Secretary
Oliver Ban
iSupplyChain Inc.
Austin, Texas USA
E-mail: kerenban@yahoo.com
Treasurer
Leonard Bohmann
Michigan Technical University
Houghton, Michigan USA
E-mail: ljbohman@mtu.edu
Junior Past President
Manuel Castro
Spanish National Distance University
Madrid, Spain
Phone: +34 913986476
E-mail: mcastro@ieec.uned.es

Senior Past President

Rob Reilly
Lanesborough, Massachusetts USA
Phone: +1 413 329 1878
E-mail: reilly@media.mit.edu

 BOARD OF GOVERNORS

The terms of office for each elected board member is 3-years
and ends on December 31st of the year in parenthesis.

The full Board of Governors is composed of the President,
President-elect, Secretary, Treasurer, Junior Past President,
Senior Past President, the Vice Presidents, and the chair of
each of the Standing Committees as well as the elected
members (listed below).

AT-LARGE MEMBERS

Melany Ciampi (Brasil)
Victor Nelson (USA)
Diane Rover (USA)
Deepak Garg (India)
Okyay Kaynak (Turkey)
Kai Pak Mark (China)
Mani Mina (USA)
Rosa Maria Vasconcelos (Portugal)
Hamadou Saliah Hassane (Canada)
Lance Perez (USA)
Lisa Huettel (USA)
Alan Cheville (USA)

 STANDING COMMITTEES

AWARDS COMMITTEE
Edwin C. Jones Jr., Chair
Iowa State University
N2ecj@iastate.edu
Award Policy Committee
Edwin C. Jones Jr., Chair
Iowa State University
N2ecj@iastate.edu

Michael Auer
Carinthia Technical University
M.Auer@ieee.org

Joanne Bechta-Dugan
University of Virginia
jbd@virginia.edu

Lyle Feisel
Binghamton University
l.feisel@ieee.org

Susan Lord
University of San Diego
slord@sandiego.edu

IEEE William E. Sayle II Award for Achievement in Education Award Subcommittee
Susan Conry
Clarkson University
conry@clarkson.edu
Chapter Achievement Award Subcommittee
Trond Clausen, Chair
Telemark University College, Norway
trond.clausen@ieee.org
Distinguished Member Award Subcommittee
Victor Nelson, Chair
Auburn University
nelsovp@auburn.edu
Distinguished Chapter Leadership Award Subcommittee
Trond Clausen, Chair
Telemark University College, Norway
trond.clausen@ieee.org
Edwin C. Jones Jr. Meritorious Service Award Subcommittee
Susan Lord, Chair
University of San Diego
slord@sandiego.edu
Hewlett-Packard/Harriett B. Rigas Award Subcommittee
Joanne Bechta-Dugan, Chair
University of Virginia
jbd@virginia.edu
Mac Van Valkenburg Award Subcommittee
Seyed Hossein Mousavinezhad, Chair
Idaho State University
hossein.mousavinezhad@ieee.org
Student Leadership Award
Kai Pan Mark
kp.mark@alumni.cityu.edu.hk
Transactions on Education Best Paper Award Subcommittee
Jeffrey Froyd, Chair
Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Transactions on Education
Texas A&M University, USA
froyd@tamu.edu
CHAPTERS COMMITTEE
Rob Reilly, Co-Chair
reilly@media.mit.edu

Kai Pan Mark, Co-Chair
City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
kp.mark@alumni.cityu.edu.hk

Paul Merisier, Vice Chair
New York University
muery1@yahoo.fr

Emmanuel Gonzalez, Vice Chair
Manila, Republic of the Philippine Islands
emmanuel_g@ieee.org

Michael Auer
Carinthia University of Applied Sciences, Austria
M.Auer@ieee.org

Rosanna Chan
Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
yychan@ie.cuhk.edu.hk

Vladimir Petrovic
University of Belgrade, Serbia
vp@etf.rs

Distinguished Lecturer Program Subcommittee
Edmundo Tovar, Spain, Chair (etovar@fi.upm.es)
Student Activities Subcommittee

Chair

Subhamoy Mandal
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
E-Mail: s.mandal@ieee.org; smandal@smst.iitkgp.ernet.in
Web: http://www.smandal.in

Membership Development Coordinator

Isidoro Mendes Gomes
Polytechnic Institute of Castelo Branco, Tech School, Portugal
isidorogomes@ieee.org

Publicity Coordinator

Muhammad Wannous
Kumamoto University, Japan
muhammad.wannous@ieee.org

Conferences and Distinguished Lecturer Program

Md. Shihab Uddin
KUET, Bangladesh
E-mail: shihabuddin@ieee.org; msu@student-partners.com

Web and Interactions

Mitushi Jain
National Institute of Design, R&D Campus, Bangalore, India
mitushi.jain@msn.com [currently at Microsoft India Development Center, Hyderabad, India]

IEEE Technology and Engineering Education (a student-only publication)

Editor in Chief
  • Chi-Hua Chen,
    Institute of Information Management, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
    chihua0826@gmail.com

Associate Editors

  • Chi-Chun Lo,
    National Chiao Tung University
  • Hsu Yang Kung,
    Department of Management Information Systems, National Pingtung University of Science and Technology, Taiwan
  • Chingfen Chang,
    National Chiao Tung University
  • Maiga Chang,
    Athabasca University, Canada
  • Hui-Fei Lin,
    National Chiao Tung University
  • Ka Lok Man,
    Xi'an Jiaotong-Liverpool University, China
  • Rainier Ngie Ong,
    Philippines
  • Oscar M. Bonastre,
    Miguel Hernandez University, Spain
  • Emmanuel A. Gonzalez,
    Mapua Institute of Technology, Philippines
  • Dimitris Karadimas,
    University of Patras, Greece, Greece
  • Aisha Yousuf,
    University of Michigan-Dearborn, United States

Web Editor

  • Chi-Hua Chen,
    Institute of Information Management, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • ZHAO XINYOU,
    University of Electro-Communications, Japan
  • Seiji Isotani,
    Osaka University, Japan
  • Emmanuel A. Gonzalez,
    Mapua Institute of Technology, Philippines

Executive Advisory Board

  • Li-Chun Wang,
    National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • Oliver Ban,
    IBM, USA
  • Marcelo C. Castro,
    Proctor and Gamble, Brazil
  • Rob Reilly,
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Former Editor in Chief

  • ZHAO XINYOU,
    University of Electro-Communications, Japan
  • Seiji Isotani,
    Osaka University, Japan
  • Emmanuel A. Gonzalez,
    Mapua Institute of Technology, Philippines
CONSTITUTION AND BY LAWS COMMITTEE
Victor Nelson, Chair
Auburn University, Alabama USA
nelsovp@auburn.edu
FELLOWS COMMITTEE

The Fellows Committee is prohibited from nominating or providing a Reference for IEEE Fellow-candidates from the Education Society. The sole purpose of this committee is to receive, review, and evaluate nomination packets from the IEEE Fellows Committee. Click here for more information on becoming an IEEE Fellow.

Chair: James Rowland (jrowland@ku.edu)
Region 1: Arthur W. Winston (a.winston@ieee.org)
Region 2: Charles K. Alexander (c.alexander@ieee.org)
Region 3: Sarah A. Rajala (rajala@iastate.edu)
Region 4: Rodney J. Soukup (rsoukup@unl.edu)
Region 5: David Soldan (d.soldan@ieee.org)
Region 6: Raman Unnikrishnan (runnikrishnan@Exchange.fullerton.edu)
Region 7: Kamal Al Haddad (kamal@ele.etsmtl.ca)
Region 8: Open
Region 9: Teofilo Ramos (t.ramos@ieee.org)
Region 10: Akinori Nishihara (a.nishihara@ieee.org)

FINANCE COMMITTEE

Diane Rover, Chair (drover@iastate.edu)
Leonard Bohmann, EdSoc Treasurer
Cordelia Brown
Rob Maher
Stuart Wentworth

CONFERENCES AND WORKSHOPS COMMITTEE
Dr. Russ Meier, Chair and Society Vice President for Conferences and Workshops
Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Milwaukee School of Engineering
1025 N. Broadway
Milwaukee, WI 53202 USA
TEL: 414 277 2243
FAX: 414 277 7465
email: meier@msoe.edu

Regional Meetings Committee Members

Regions 1-7 (USA, Canada): Russ Meier (meier@msoe.edu)
Region 8 (Europe, Africa, Middle East): Manuel Castro (mcastro@ieec.uned.es)
Region 9 (Central & South America): Melani Ciampi (melany@copec.org.br)
Region 10 (Asia & Pacific Ocean): Oliver Ban (kerenban@yahoo.com)
MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE
Seyed Hossein Mousavinezhad, Chair
Idaho State University, USA,
hossein.mousavinezhad@ieee.org

Aju Thomas Abraham
Tata Consultancy Services Ltd., India
ajuthomas@ieee.org

Dr. Chengying Xu
Florida State University
cxu@fsu.edu

Aleksander Szabo
University of Zagreb, Croatia
aleksandar.szabo@zemris.fer.hr

NOMINATING COMMITTEE
Manuel Castro, Chair
Jr. Past President

Trond Clausen
Skien, Norway
trond.clausen@ieee.org

Martin Llamas Nistal
University of Vigo, Spain
martin@vuvigo.es Manila, Philippines
emm.gonzalez@delasalle.ph

Susan Lord
University of San Diego
San Diego, California USA
E-mail: slord@sandiego.edu

Subhamoy Mandal
Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
s.mandal@ieee.org; smandal@smst.iitkgp.ernet.in

James Sluss
The University of Oklahoma USA
sluss@ou.edu

PUBLICATIONS COMMITTEE
Martin Llamas-Nistal
Chair and Society Vice President for Publications
University of Vigo, Spain
martin@vigo.es
IEEE Transactions on Education

Jeffrey Froyd
Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Transactions on Education
Texas A&M University, USA
froyd@tamu.edu

Kirsty Mills
Editorial Administrator
dr.kirsty.mills@ieee.org

Associate Editors for IEEE Transactions on Education

Eliathamby Ambikairajah, Australia
Susamma Barua, USA
Laura Bottomley, USA
Wei Chen, China
Alan Cheville, USA
Tim Dallas, USA
Jennifer DeBoer, USA
Matthew Dunnigan, UK
Nickolas Falkner, Australia
Cynthia Finelli, USA
Miguel Gonzalez, USA
Laurie Joiner, USA
Mohammed Karim, USA
Shreedpad Karmalkar, India
Mark Lee, Australia
Susan Lord, USA
Susan Mengel, USA
Mani Mina, USA
Elliot Moore, USA
Fernando A. Moreira, Brazil
Matthew Ohland, USA
Martin Reisslein, USA
Jocelyn Sabatier, France
Ann Sobel, USA
LeenKiat Soh, USA
Mark Somerville, USA
Shenghui Song, Hong Kong
The Interface

Mani Mina
Editor, The Interface
mmina@iastate.edu

Associate Editors of The Interface

Edward Cherlin, USA
John Conrad, USA
Rodrigo Capobianco Guido, Brasil
Muhammed Yasir Khan, Pakistan
Fanny Klett, Germany
Maria J. Martins, Portugal
Agnieszka Miguel, USA
Mary Miller, USA
Young Bai Moon, USA
Roberto Moreno, Chile
Mary Reidy, USA
Teresa Restivo, Portugal
Richard Selby, Czech Republic
Rohit Shenoy, USA
Chirag Warty, USA

IEEE-RITA

Martin Llamas-Nistal
Co-Editor, IEEE-RITA
University of Vigo, Spain
martin@uvigo.es

Manuel Castro
Co-Editor, IEEE-RITA
National Distance University, Spain
mcastro@ieec.uned.es

IEEE Multi Media Engineering Education -- a student only publication

Chi-Hua Chen
Editor-in-Chief, IEEE Multidisciplinary Engineering Education Magazine
Institute of Information Management, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan chihua0826@gmail.com

News&Notes

Rob Reilly
Editor, News&Notes newsletter
reilly@media.mit.edu

Martin Llamas-Nistal
Associate Editor, News&Notes newsletter
University of Vigo, Spain
martin@uvigo.es

IEEE Transactions on Learning Technologies
This publication is a joint quarterly publication of the IEEE Computer Society and the IEEE Education Society. It is fully online (no paper version). The publication is overseen by a Steering Committee, which is composed of 5 members — 2 from the Education Society and 3 from the Computer Society. The Education Society members of this committee are listed below.

Prof. Baltasar Fernández-Manjón, Steering Committee Chair
Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
balta@fdi.ucm.es
Prof. Euan Lindsay
Central Queensland University, Australia
e.lindsay@cqu.edu.au
STANDARDS COMMITTEE
  • Hamadou Saliah-Hassane, Chair, Canada
    saliah@teluq.ca (Founding member of this committee)
  • Idalis Villanueva, Vice Chair, USA, idalis.villanueva@usu.edu
  • Johann Marquez-Barja, Ireland, johann@marquez-barja.com
  • Cecelia Wright Brown, USA, uofbalt@yahoo.com
  • Manuel Castro, Spain, mcastro@ieec.uned.es (Founding member of this committee)
  • Raul Cordeiro, Portugal, cinel.raul@gmail.com
  • Martin Llamas, Spain, martin@det.uvigo.es
  • Jose Manuel Fonseca, Portugal, jmf@uninova.pt
  • Denis Gillet, Switzerland, denis.gillet@epfl.ch
  • Dabipi K. Ibibia, USA, ikdabipi@umes.edu
  • Kai Pan Mark, Hong Kong, kp.mark@alumini.cityu.edu.hk
  • Pablo Orduna, Spain, porduna@tecnologico.deusto.es
  • Rob Reilly, USA, reilly@media.mit.edu (Founding member of this committee)
  • Miguel Rodriguez Artacho, Spain, miguel@lsi.uned.es
  • Elio San Cristobal Ruiz, Spain, elio@ieec.uned.es
  • Janusz Zalewski, USA, zalewski@fgcu.edu
  • Danilo G. Zutin, Austria, D.GarbiZutin@fh-kaernten.at
WEB SITE
  • Rob Reilly (reilly@media.mit.edu), Webmaster

 OTHER COMMITTEES OF THE EDUCATION SOCIETY

STRATEGIC PLANNING COMMITTEE
  • Jim Sluss, Chair (sluss@ou.edu)
  • Manuel Castro, Past Chair (mcastro@ieec.uned.es)
  • Oliver Ban (kerenban@yahoo.com)
  • Leonard Bohmann (ljbohman@mtu.edu)
  • Melany Ciampi (melany@copec.org.br)
  • Martin Llamas Nistal (martin@det.uvigo.es)
  • Russ Meier (meier@msoe.edu)
  • Hossein Mousavinezhad (hossein.mousavinezhad@ieee.org)
  • Vic Nelson (nelsovp@auburn.edu)
  • Lance C. Pérez (lperez@unl.edu)
  • Rob Reilly (reilly@media.mit.edu)
  • Diane Rover (drover@iastate.edu)
  • Claudio da Rocha Brito (cdrbrito@copec.org.br)
  • Susan Lord (slord@sandiego.edu)
  • Edmundo Tovar (etovar@fi.upm.es)

IEEE TAB (Technical Activities Board) Committees representatives of the IEEE Education Society

  • TAB Awards and Recognition Committee ... Edwin C, Jones (n2ecj@iastate.edu)
  • TAB Finance Committee... Lance Perez (lperez@unl.edu)
  • TAB Periodicals Committees ... Martin Llamas (martin@det.uvigo.es)
  • TAB/PSPB Products and Services Committee ... Oliver Ban (kerenban@gmail.com)
  • Conference Publications Committee ... Russ Meier (meier@msoe.edu)
  • TAB Strategic Planning Committee ... Hossein Mousavinezhad (hossein.mousavinezhad@ieee.org)

FRONTIERS IN EDUCATION CONFERENCE (FIE) STEERING COMMITTEE
  • Russ Meier, Milwaukee School of Engineering (meier@msoe.edu)
  • James Sluss, University of Oklahoma (sluss@ou.edu)
  • Edmundo Tovar Caro, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid (etovar@fi.upm.es)
INTERNATIONAL FEDERATION OF ENGINEERING EDUCATION SOCIETIES (IFEES) REPRESENTATIVE
    Hamadou Saliah-Hassane
    TELUQ |University of Quebec,
    Montreal, Canada hamadou.saliah-hassane@teluq.ca
IEEE YOUNG PROFESSIONALS COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVE
    Aju Thomas Abraham
    Tata Consultancy Services Ltd., India
    ajuthomas@ieee.org
AFRICAN ASSOCIATION FOR ENGINEERING EDUCATION REPRESENTATIVE
Hamadou Saliah-Hassane
TELUQ, University of Quebec
Quebec, Canada
saliah@teluq.ca
MEMBERSHIP PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE
  • Oliver Ban, Co-Chair (kerenban@yahoo.com)
  • Melany Ciampi, Co-Chair, COPEC, Brazil (melany@copec.org.br)
  • Lance C. Pérez, University of Nebraska USA
WOMEN IN ENGINEERING COMMITTEE
  • Lynne Slivovsky, Chair, California Polytechnic State University, USA, (lslivovs@calpoly.edu)
  • Cordelia Brown, Purdue University, USA
  • Melany Ciampi, COPEC, Brazil