Corner

Switchgear Committee

Our Scope

The scope of the Committee encompasses the Committee’s and its Subcommittees' technical responsibilities. Subcommittees, in addition to their technical responsibilities, have direct responsibility for remaining cognizant of social implications, the environment, esthetics, increased employment, and other matters as related to the practice of electrical engineering.

  1. Treatment of matters in which the dominant factors are the design, construction and operation of devices or assembled gear to establish (make), interrupt, or change connections in any electric circuit under normal or abnormal condition, including treatment of the following:

        *  Automatic reclosers and sectionalizers
        *  Current limiting devices
        *  Fuses and cutouts
        *  Gas-insulated switchgear
        *  Insulation, insulators and hardware for switchgear
        *  Metal-enclosed buses and all buses included in switchgear assemblies
        *  Power circuit breakers,
        *  Switches, including pad-mounted switches
        *  Switchgear assemblies
        *  Switchgear devices

  2. Sponsorship and development (either alone or jointly with other technical committees and/or organizations) of standards, recommended practices, guidelines and policies as well as preparation of position papers and/or documents, technical conferences and/or sessions on matters related to items within the Scope above.

  3. Liaison and cooperation with other technical committees, societies, groups and associations concerned with various aspects of items within the Scope above.


Committee
Officers

Chair




Paul Sullivan


DuPont
Paul.B.Sullivan@ieee.org

Vice Chair




Todd Irwin


GE Grid Solutions
Todd.Irwin@ieee.org

Secretary/ Treasurer




Keith Flowers


Siemens Industry, Inc.
Keith.Flowers@siemens.com

Immediate Past Chair




Ted Olsen


Siemens Industry, Inc.
t.olsen@ieee.org

Standards Coordinator




Michael Wactor


Powell Electrical Systems, Inc.
mwactor@ieee.org
TCPC
Technical Committee Program Coordinator

Amy Rowell


Eaton
AmyWRowell@Eaton.com

Meetings Coordinator




John C. Webb


ABB
john.c.webb@us.abb.com

Registrar / Webmaster




Ken Edwards


Bonneville Power Admin.
k.s.edwards@ieee.org

Upcoming Meeting

Meetings Image

Join us at the
Sheraton Station Square Hotel
in beautiful
Pittsburgh, PA!

October 9 - 13, 2016

How to Get Involved!




If you are new to the Committee or want more information on how to get involved, we want to help! A webpage has been developed to help with this transition.
GET INVOLVED!!