IEEE R10 IEEE Xplore Digital Library IEEE Standards IEEE Spectrum More Sites
IEEE kolata logo
IEEE Kolkata Section
  |   |  
About Us
About IEEE

IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.

About IEEE Kolkata Section

Way back in 1971 mebers of IEEE over the entire Eastern and North Eastern region of India got together to form the Eastern Regional Sub-Section of IEEE, in India. Mr. Alak Ghose was the founder Chairman of this Sub-Section. After the formation of the India Council, the Eastern Regional Sub-Section was given the name of Calcutta Sub-Section, under the Delhi Section of IEEE, India. Through the pioneering efforts of Mr. K.B. Subramaniam who took over form Mr. Alak Ghose in 1974 as Chairman, along with Mr. Kalyan K Dasgupta, the Calcutta Sub-Section was raised to the status of a full section on September 28, 1978.

In 1983 a Sub-Section was formed at the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur under IEEE Calcutta Section and on May 13, 1985 the Kharagpur Sub-Section was upgraded to a Section, containing the Midnapur district of West Bengal within the geographical domain of IEEE Calcutta Section.

Over the years, the activities of IEEE Calcutta Section increased manifold and spread through many cities and state capitals under the Section. Several Technical Society Chapters and many student branches have been formed. Currently the Section has eleven chapters and two affinity groups. There are more than fifteen student branches now and this figure is continually on the rise. The Section maintains a healthy student to member ratio and works closely and coherently with its chapters and affinity groups not only in technical, education and membership development activities but also in outreach activities which a major focus of the section.


Chairs of IEEE Kolkata Section
Name From To
K B Subramanium 1978 1979
Kalyan K Dasgupta 1980 1981
Alak K Ghosh 1982 1984
Manujendra N Roy 1985 1987
Manish K Mukherjee 1988 1990
Satya B Gupta 1991 1993
Alok K Das 1994 1996
Dipak K Basu 1997 1999
Nirmalendu Chatterjee 2000 2002
Rabindranath Nandi 2003 2005
Salil K Sanyal 2006 2008
Kalyan K Mallik 2009 2010
Sivaji Chakravorti 2011 2012
Debatosh Guha 2013 2014
Chandan K Sarkar 2015 2016
Sujit Kumar Biswas 2017 2018
Sanjay Kar Chowdhury 2019 2020

About Kolkata

Job Charnok of the East India Company chose this place for a British trade settlement in 1690. Three large villages along the east bank of the river Ganges, named, Sutanuti, Gobindapur and Kalikata were bought by the British. In 1756, Siraj-ud-daullah, Nawab of Bengal, attacked the city and captured the fort. In 1757 Calcutta was recaptured by Robert Clive when the British defeated Siraj-ud-daullah. Calcutta became the capital of British India in 1772 and remained so till 1912, when the British moved the capital to Delhi. In 1947, when India gained freedom and the country got partitioned between India and Pakistan, Calcutta was included in the Indian part of Bengal, West Bengal. In independent India Calcutta became the capital city of the state of West Bengal.

The city has been renamed officially to Kolkata in 2001. It is a cosmopolitan city where people, technology and ideas blend together with the socio-political culture to give the city a great shape. Today, Kolkata is a unique blend of ancient and anon, occidental and oriental styles, skyscrapers and Victorian edifices. Kolkata symbolizes creativity and vibrancy and is the city where artistic endeavor is held in very high esteem. The rich cultural, literary and religious flavors are exquisitely exhibited in its fine arts, writing, music, dance and theater. Kolkata is the workplace of four Nobel laureates - Ronald Ross, Rabindranath Tagore, Mother Teresa and C.V.Raman. It is also the home of Nobel Laureate Amartya Sen and Oscar Winner Satyajit Ray.

Geographical location of Kolkata: Latitude-22 degree 82 minutes North and Longitude-88 degrees 20 minutes East, Altitude-17 feet from sea level, approx. 96 km from Bay of Bengal and it is 5.5 hours ahead of GMT.

Some of the useful links to help you know more about Kolkata and visit this city.

Nobel Laureates & Oscar Winner from Kolkata
Ronalnd Ross
Ronalnd Ross
Rabindra Nath Tagore
Rabindra Nath Tagore
Mother Teresa
Mother Teresa
C.V. Raman
C.V. Raman
Amartya Sen
Amartya Sen
Abhijit Banerjee
Abhijit Vinayak
Satyajit Ray
Satyajit Ray

Locate Us
India Map