2020 Officers

Chairman Claude Pitts Claude.pitts@ieee.org
Vice-Chairman James Howard j.howard@ieee.org
Treasurer Eric S. Ackerman e.ackerman@ieee.org
Secretary Nancy Mate NancyEM@ieee.org
Past Chairman Ed Kirchner Ed.kirchner@ieee.org
Student Activities Butch Shadwell b.shadwell@ieee.org
Webmaster Eric S. Ackerman e.ackerman@ieee.org
Membership Development Jim Howard j.howard@ieee.org
Awards & Bylaws Richard Beatie r.beatie@ieee.org
Florida Council Representative to Florida Board of Professional Engineers Art Nordlinger alnordlinger@tecoenergy.com

 

IEEE is the world's largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through IEEE's highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.


History of the Florida Council

In the middle 1970's many engineers, including many IEEE members, had experienced or were facing loss of employment due to the poor economy and reductions in the aerospace program.

The coordinated effort of all the Sections through a statewide organization had much appeal. In 1978 the Florida Council was fully operative.

Professional issues, including wage busting at Kennedy Space Center, engineering registration, the energy crisis, and legislative liaison were dealt with directly by the Council or in concert with the Florida Council of Engineers.