Sections and Chairs

 

SECTION INFORMATION - WEBSITE CHAIRPERSON EMAIL
BROWARD

Counties Covered: Broward

Date Established: 1975

https://www.ewh.ieee.org/r3/broward/

Carlos Cabrera ccabrera@ieee.org
CANAVERAL

Counties Covered: Northern and Central Brevard

Date Established: 1952

https://www.ewh.ieee.org/r3/canaveral/

Macaulay Osaisai mosaisa@harris.com
DAYTONA

Counties Covered: Voulusia, Flagler

Date Established: 1965

https://ewh.ieee.org/r3/daytona/

Richard Kent rtkentjr@msn.com
FLORIDA WEST COAST

Counties Covered: Charlotte, Citrus, DeSoto, Hardee, Hernando, Hillsborough, Lee, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Sarasota

Date Established: 1952

https://r3.ieee.org/fwc/

Claude Pitts cpitts7@tampabay.rr.com
GAINESVILLE

Counties Covered: Alachua, Bradford, Columbia, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lafayette, Levy, Madison, Marion, Suwanee, Taylor, Union.

Date Established: 1959

https://ewh.ieee.org/r3/gainesville/

Arturo Bretas bretas.arturo@gmail.com

JACKSONVILLE

Jacksonville

https://sites.ieee.org/jacksonville/

Carlin Boswell carlinbosswell@gmail.com
MELBOURNE

Counties Covered: Southern Brevard, Indian River

Date Established: 1984

https://www.ieeemelbourne.org/

Ed Kirchner ed.kirchner@ieee.org
MIAMI

Counties Covered: Dade, Collier, Monroe

Date Established: 1949

https://sites.ieee.org/miami/

Juan Farah jlfarah@bellsouth.net
NORTHWEST

Counties Covered: Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa,
Walton, Holmes

Date Established: 1963

https://www.ewh.ieee.org/r3/nwflorida/

Stephen Hopkins stephen@computerhelp.biz
ORLANDO

Counties Covered: Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Lake, Sumter

Date Established: 1959

https://ewh.ieee.org/r3/orlando/

Joe Juisai   joe.juisai@ieee.org
PALM BEACH

Counties Covered: Hendry, Highlands, Glades, Martin, Okeechobee, Palm Beach, St. Lucie

Date Established: 1961

https://r3.ieee.org/palmbeach/

 

Hari Kalva hari.kalva@fau.edu
TALLAHASSEE

Counties Covered: Bay, Calhoun, Gadsden, Gulf, Franklin, Jackson, Leon, Liberty, Wakulla, Washington

Date Established: 1982

https://sites.ieee.org/tallahassee/

Thomas Bellarmine t.bellarmine@ieee.org

 

 

 

IEEE is the world's largest professional association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity. IEEE and its members inspire a global community through IEEE's highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities.


History of the Florida Council

In the middle 1970's many engineers, including many IEEE members, had experienced or were facing loss of employment due to the poor economy and reductions in the aerospace program.

The coordinated effort of all the Sections through a statewide organization had much appeal. In 1978 the Florida Council was fully operative.

Professional issues, including wage busting at Kennedy Space Center, engineering registration, the energy crisis, and legislative liaison were dealt with directly by the Council or in concert with the Florida Council of Engineers.