IEEE Orlando Section Monthly

Vol. 45, No. 11 - December 2012

IEEE Orlando Section Monthly - Vol. 45, No. 11 - December 2012

2012 IEEE Orlando Section Award Recipients

Section Events

Section News


Employment Assistance

Local IEEE Conferences/Events

Other IEEE News/Events

IEEE Orlando Section Executive Committee Meeting

Date: Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Time: 6:30 - 7:00 pm - Social and Refreshments; 7:00 - 8:30 pm Executive Committee Meeting

Place: Orlando Business Development Center, District 2 (affiliated with the UCF and the S.B.A.) at 3218 East Colonial Drive, Suite #G, Orlando, FL 32802

Directions: In Herndon Plaza just east of Maguire Blvd. This is the shopping center across Colonial Drive from Fashion Square. It is on the west end of the building, around the building at the Southwest corner from the HH Gregg entrance.

Cost: Free to all IEEE members and Non-IEEE members

RSVP: IEEE Orlando Section ExCom Members: Register Here; Others: Register Here

Contact: Mike Orlovsky,, tel. 410.979.0476 (Cell)


Back to top

Nominees for 2013 Section Officers

The Orlando Section elects officers for a term of one year beginning January 1st. On November 13th, this year's Nomination Committee formed by Dr. Kalpathy Sundaram (, Dr. William (Bill) Hortos (, Dr. Xun Gong ( and Dr. Deb Hall ( presented the following nominees at the ExCom meeting who were contacted and are willing to serve if elected:

  • Chair: Michael Orlovsky
  • Vice Chair: Stanley P. Buchanan
  • Secretary: Ravi Rajaravivarma
  • Treasurer: Lynn Guthrie

Back to top

2012 IEEE Orlando Section Annual Election

Welcome to the 2012 IEEE Orlando Section Annual Election! The Election Committee wants to take this opportunity to personally express its sincere appreciation for you being an IEEE member! Our duty and responsibility is to ensure that your voting rights are protected and that you are confident that your vote is accurately cast and tabulated.

This year we will utilize the vTools.Voting system for our elections:

• Go to
• Sign-in using your IEEE Web Account
• Click where it says “Click here to vote on a ballot”
• Select the 2012 Orlando Section Annual Election Ballot
• Click “Vote” under the column “Action” and follow the instructions

Please select one candidate for each position. The candidates are:

  • Chair: Michael Orlovsky
  • Vice Chair: Stanley P. Buchanan
  • Secretary: Ravi Rajaravivarma
  • Treasurer: Lynn Guthrie

Candidate details (biography, reasons for running, etc.) are available here.
Please don’t hesitate to contact the Election Committee members at if you have a question, comment, or complaint regarding your voting experience. The election process started on November 14, 2012 and will end on December 10, 2012 at noon..
Thank you for voting – your vote counts!


Back to top

Recognition of our Full Set of 55 Orlando Section IEEE "Member 1st 50 Years"

We are honored to have an esteemed group of 55 Orlando Section members who have been identified as being members who have been with IEEE continuously since the beginning. As mentioned by Gordon Day, 2012 IEEE President and CEO, “IEEE was founded on January 1, 1963, through the merger of the AIEE (founded 1884) and IRE (founded 1912). So 2012 is IEEE's 50th year and we're celebrating it modestly, focusing primarily on honoring those members who have been with us continuously since the beginning. There are about 9400 of them. They have all now received a pin identifying them as a "Member 1st 50 Years". Please offer a note of congratulations when you see them in your travel. An extra special thank you to Dr. Dave Flinchbaugh, Lynn Guthrie and Stan Buchanan who also are active members of our 2012 IEEE Orlando EXCOM.

Thank you and congratulations!

Mike Orlovsky, IEEE Orlando Section Chair

Back to top

IEEE Orlando Section Calendar