The 5th Annual
Electrical Power Symposium 2005
"Convergence of Power and High Technologies"
Building Intelligent & Responsive Systems
October 13 - 14, 2005
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada








  Abstracts & Bios


Sponsors & Supporters

Event Location and Direction

Hotel/Travel Info.

Other Useful Links

Letter of Support from the Minister of Natural
Resources Canada

Letter of Support from the Mayor of Ottawa

Last year event  EPS2004


 Symposium Organizing Committee:

Committee Co-Chairs:
Dr. Wahab  Almuhtadi,  P. Eng., IEEE Ottawa-Power Engineering Society Chair
Abdullah,  P.  Eng.,  IEEE Ottawa Section Treasurer,  IEEE  Ottawa-Reliability Society Chair
Dr. Aidan Foss,  P. Eng., IEE  Ottawa,
Dr. Branislav Djokic, P. Eng.,  IEEE Ottawa Section Secretary,  IEEE Ottawa Education Chair 

Bhagvat Joshi, IEE Ottawa

Boban Petrovic, IEEE Ottawa


Barry de Young, IEEE Ottawa

Media and Publicity:

Carolyn MacIsaac, IEEE Ottawa Section


Kris Hammel, IEEE Ottawa

Business Relations:

Merv Perry, IEEE Ottawa

Project Management:

John Montgomery


Zora Arnautovic


Selim Varol


Mike Wyndham, IEEE Ottawa


 Dr. Branislav Djokic, P. Eng.,  IEEE Ottawa Section Secretary,  IEEE Ottawa Education Chair

Website Design:
Dr. Wahab Almuhtadi,  P. Eng., IEEE-PES Ottawa, Chair


Michael Caughey & Carl Kropp

Symposium Speakers and Presenters:

Robert Crawhall, Dr., President, National Capital Institute of Telecommunications
Garner Mitchell, Vice-President, Power Production, SaskPower
Michael Caughey
, BSc(EE), PhD, Caughey & Company, IEEE Ottawa Section Past Chair
Carl Kropp
, Adjunct Professor, Carleton University & Vice Chair of IEEE PES Ottawa
Virgilio Centeno, Dr., Professor, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
George Schimmel, Tamarack Consulting, Inc., USA;
Karlheinz Schwarz,
NettedAutomation, Germany
Christoph Brunner
, ABB, Switzerland
Zlatko Krstulich, Chief Technology Officer, Alcatel Canada
Rob Rousseau, P. Eng., Energy Manager, Energy Ottawa
Prof. Dr. Miroslav Begovic
, Georgia Institute of Technology; IEEE Fellow
Robb Flegg
, Director of Project Management, Triacta Power Technologies
Bill Smith
, Vice-President, Siemens Canada

Tutorial Speakers and Presenters:

Morris Uremovich, Executive Dean, Faculty of Technology and Trade, Algonquin College
Steve Finnagan, Academic Chair, Electronics & Electro-Mechanical Studies, Algonquin College
Nicholas Ingman, Customer Information Management, Independent Electricity System Operator
Gregory J. Leng, Head, RETScreen International, Natural Resources Canada
Catherine Cottingham, Canadian Electricity Association (CEA)
Eric R. Dormer, Ottawa Talent Initiative


  Copyright IEEE/IEE 2005    Webmaster: Wahab Almuhtadi <almuhtadi@ieee.org