





# Education, Recognition & Publications IEEE/PES Switchgear Committee Spring 2016 Meeting Hilton Head, SC

#### **IEEE SA International Award**



#### **Bill Long**

"For exemplary leadership as Chairman of the Working Group which upgraded IEEE Std.
C37.013 to joint IEEE / IEC 62271-37-013"
Bill will be honored at the IEEE SA Awards Banquet on December 6<sup>th</sup>.

The IEEE-SA International Award is presented to an IEEE-SA individual member who has made an extraordinary contribution to establishing the IEEE-SA as a world-class leader in standardization.

## **IEEE SA Awards Banquet**



#### **IEEE SA Medallion Award**



#### Bill Bergman

"For technical leadership in the development of international switchgear and power equipment standards."

Bill will be honored at the IEEE SA Awards Banquet on December 6<sup>th</sup>.

The IEEE-SA Standards Medallion is awarded for major contributions to the development of standards

## **IEEE SA Awards Banquet**



## **NEW AWARDS**



# PES Technical Committee Distinguished Individual Service Award

#### Theodore W. Olsen

"For exemplary and dedicated service to the PES Switchgear Committee for more than 20 years in numerous positions as a volunteer and an officer, most recently of the PES Switchgear Committee"



# PES Technical Committee Prize Paper Award

## "Transient Limiting Inductor Applications in Shunt Capacitor Banks"

Roy Alexander Lucas Collette Tom Grebe Halim Malaj Joe Meisner



# PES Technical Committee Working Group Recognition Award

## IEEE Standard for DC (3200 V and below) Power Circuit Breakers Used in Enclosures

Keith Flowers, Chair Ted Olsen, Vice-Chair

David Dunne	Dan Hrncir	Jeffery Mizener	Richard Rohr
Douglas J. Edwards	Anurag Jivanani	Darryl Moser	Mike Seabrook
Brian Gerzeny	Harry Josten	Paul Notarian	John Shullaw
Lou Grahor	Chad Kennedy	George Nourse	Michael D. Sigmon
Jeffrey Hidaka	Michael Lafond	Owen Parks	

## **Outgoing Committee Chair**

#### **Ted Olsen**

Switchgear Committee



C37.012	C37.20.1	C37.60
C37.11	C37.20.2	C37.63
C37.13	C37.20.3	C37.74
C37.14	C37.20.6	
C37.26		



#### **Outgoing Subcommittee Chair**



#### **Chris Ambrose**

RODE Subcommittee
Reclosers and Other
Distribution Equipment

- C37.60 Reclosers Published
- C37.63 Sectionalizers
- C37.74 Underground Subs

## **Outgoing Subcommittee Chair**

#### **Mauricio Aristizabal**

HVCB Subcommittee
High Voltage Circuit Breakers



- C37.012 Guide for Capacitive Switching
- C37.11 Electrical Control of HVCB's
- 62271-37-013 Generator CB's

#### **Main Committee Elevation**



Dave Dunn Paul Gingrich Victor Hermosillo John McClelland Carl Schuetz Terry Woodyard

#### **IEEE Fellows**

IEEE Fellow is a distinction reserved for select IEEE members whose extraordinary accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest are deemed fitting of this prestigious grade elevation

Roy Alexander

James Bowen

John Brunke

**Denis Dufournet** 

Leslie Falkingham

Stephen Lambert

George Lester

Daleep Mohla

**Hugh Ross** 

**David Smith** 

**Thomas Tobin** 



## **IEEE Senior Membership**

- Self-Nominating Process
  - Engineer, scientist, educator, technical executive or originator
  - Professional Practice of 10 Years
  - Significant Contributions of 5 Years
- 65 Senior & Life Senior Members
  - Recognized with Badge Ribbons

#### **New Honorary Members**



Denis Dufournet

Larry Farr

Ed Jankowich

John Shullaw

Jim Swank

#### **Publications**

- Technical Paper Editors
  - IEEE requires a rotation of Technical Paper Editors
  - High Voltage Papers Kirk Smith
  - Low Voltage Papers ??? Volunteer

#### **Tues Talks & Thurs Techs**

 We need speakers for the Tuesday Lunch and Thursday Presentations

#### **Tuesday Luncheon Talks**

- KC Robotics A FIRST Robotics Team Paul Sullivan
- Pittsburgh Historical Contributions ???
   Need Presenter

#### **Thursday Technical Presentations**

- Long Term Performance of Bare and Coated Conductors at High Temperatures
   Dr. Edgar Dullni
- Vacuum Interrupters 101\*
   \* Everything you always wanted to know about vacuum interrupters but were afraid to ask
   Prof. Leslie Falkingham
- Case Studies in Engineering Ethics Daniel Schiffbauer